Coming home

So I’ve returned from all my travelling ventures over the Summer and ready to start in my Masters Degree of Art and Humanities at DJCAD.

Highlights of the Summer;

2 week long road trip the Islands of Scotland, this included visiting; Shetland, Orkney, Coll, Tiree and the Isle of Skye, whilst also exploring the beautiful remote North West Part of Scotland.

Month long expedition/ artist residency around the Northern Isles of Scotland with the Clipperton Project, exploring the coastline of Shetland, visiting all the tiny sometimes uninhabited Islands and my most favorite one of all, Papa Stour.

Endless road trips throughout the month of August in my native Scotland, I had 2 weeks in between my Residency with the Clipperton Project and my Scholarship to Florence so I made it count. From staying in hobbit huts in Glen Coe to travelling around the North East Part of Scotland I saw a lot and it was fantastic.

Lastly, my RSA John Kinross Scholarship to Florence. As some of you may know I was selected amongst other student’s at Duncan of Jordanstone’s Degree Show to have a month long funded scholarship to Florence. I decided to go out at the end of August until the very end of September.
It was incredible.
Thinking back I can’t even fathom how beautiful the city is, how wonderful Italy is as a whole and the historic art and frescoes around every corner, classics everywhere! Anyway I’m going to be doing a separate post on each of the places I’ve been to this summer to cover more details and photographs so tune in!

It is strange to be in the one place now after being in a new place most days throughout the whole Summer, I am sad that my travelling stint is done for a little while to focus on my Masters of Fine Art Degree but also excited as this is a really brilliant opportunity, and of course I will be road tripping, exploring and travelling as much as i can within the year until the bigger trips next year!

Have a look at my newly updated website; http://www.ellisoconnor.com and keep an eye on the blog for new posts now that I’m back!
I leave you with a photo from Shetland.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

