April 2015 to present

Hello!

So it’s been a very long time since I’ve posted a blog post and it’s definitely time for an update. I have no idea where these past few months have gone but all I know it’s been a very intense and busy time.

To summarize what I have been working on, exhibiting and where I have been travelling too, here’s a little breakdown from April right up until now.

Exhibitions:

  • RSA New Contemporaries, Royal Scottish Academy, Edinburgh, 14th March – 8th April 2015
  • Fleming Collection ‘New Scottish Artists’, London,12th May – 24th June
  • Corridor: VAU Members Show, Visual Artist Unit, VAU Studios, Glasgow
  • Wall Projects Solo Exhibition, ‘Another Place’, Forfar, 13th June – 11th July 2015
  • ‘Dimmi’ Tell me, Patriothall Gallery, Edinburgh, 31st July – 16th August
  • Meffan Gallery Solo Exhibition ‘Edges’, Montrose, 15th August – 12th September 2015
  • DJCAD Masters Show, Dundee, 22nd – 29th August 2015
  • VAU Annual Members Show – 15th – 23rd September, Generator Projects, Dundee
  • Lateral North, South Block Gallery, Glasgow, 4th September – 6th of October
  • ‘Festschrift’, House for an Art Lover’s Studio Pavilion, Glasgow, 6th – 13th November

Phew! All of these shows – group and solo in just a matter of over 6 months.

Along with also finishing my Masters Degree and receiving it with distinction, I’ve managed to squeeze in some time for journeys, travel and a few island hops around Scotland. Here’s a look at some of the places and events I’ve taken part in since April

  • Isle of Colonsay
  • Greece Study Trip to the beautiful Island of Aegina and then onto Athens.
  • London for Fleming Collection Show
  • Geneva Alps trip to Switzerland and France
  • Moved into my large studio space in May for the summer
  • One week on the Isle of Eigg staying in two bothies.
  • Camping in Glen Coe
  • July Trip to Skye staying in a Wig Wam, the Isle of Harris and onto St Kilda!
  • Published in the Scots Magazine, Evening Telegraph, Courier, GQ Magazine and the Herald whist also appearing on STV News twice.
  • Completed my year long Masters degree.
  • Rome
  • Raised over a thousand pound for the British Heart Foundation whilst walking and completing the 96 mile West Highland Way in Scotland.
  • Hot Air Balloon Ride over Perthshire
  • Wild Camping on the Islands of Islay and Jura
  • Started working at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design as Artist in Residence.
  • Shetland

And so to this present day, I’m currently in the midst of organising and packing for my 5 month long trip to Iceland. I leave this Thursday the 1st of October and fly up to Reykjavik where I will then embark on a 4 hour bus journey to the rural fishing village in the North Part called Skagastrond. It is here where I will be artist in residence for a 2 month period from the 1st of October to the 30th of November with Nes Organisation and then travel further North East to the town called Ólafsfjörður. I have been selected for the Listhus award and will be here from the 5th of December until the 1st of March 2016. It doesn’t really seem real yet that I’m going to Iceland, my dream place for this long a time but I am so excited to be doing so. Working with the remote communities, gaining plenty of inspiration from the unique surroundings for my practise, travelling around the remote area whilst engaging with the other brilliant artists I will be sharing the residency with.

I’ll be blogging more regularly about what I am up to whilst in Iceland over the harsh winter months and also blogging here and there about what I was up to this summer with more detail on St Kilda, the Islands and my studio space for example.

 

Speak soon!

 

Ellis O'Connor Artist Studio-146

Leave a Reply

