Week 20

20 weeks now of living in Iceland.

I can´t really believe it, the level of time here is something I’ve never experienced before, the days seem to be long yet the overall residency has flown in and I still feel like I’m getting used to place and finding amazement in the details of every single day.

I’ve spent my second last week here preparing for and exhibiting my last show as part of the Listhus Skammdegi Festival, took a day trip to the nearby town of Dalvik situated just a few miles south of our town along the fjord and overall immersed myself in the place as much as possible. My last show as part of the Listhus Festival was a collaborative exhibition with my fellow housemate, studio pal and overall wonderful friend Jade De Robles Rossdale. You can view some of her work over at her website here. Our exhibition was titled ´Reaction to winter´and seemed fitting that we exhibited our work together as we shared our studio throughout  the residency. Here are some photos from the show.

IMG_7293IMG_7308IMG_7315IMG_7330

I´m sitting here writing this and realising I only have a week left in Iceland, I recall leaving Scotland all the way back in October and having no idea what my experience would be like, what type of people I would meet and if I would enjoy living through the dark winter in Iceland. This experience has surpassed all of my expectations, Iceland is absolutely unreal, a place of wonderment and a place that will always lie heavy in my heart. I´m going to keep this blog short and just show you some of my images from one of my last weeks here in the far north. I’m also going to spend my final week here enjoying it and stop dwelling on leaving and just make the most of this incredible country!

My next blog will be coming to you from Scotland next week after I´ve spent my last week here!

IMG_6907IMG_6960IMG_7169IMG_7172IMG_7223IMG_7239IMG_7242IMG_7247IMG_7259IMG_7266

Leave a Reply

