Cove Park – Artist in Residence

I came to Cove Park to recharge, to reacquaint myself with my homeland after the intense experience of Iceland and to most importantly gather all of my research and develop my practise in the surroundings of a tranquil Loch and wild vivid land.

I’ve only been here for 5 days straight after coming back from Iceland and I have to say it has been one of the most fulfilling, peaceful and rewarding residences I’ve had the pleasure of being able to be a part of. It is a interdisciplinary residency and I wanted to come here specifically as I have heard a lot of positive comments about the set up, the unique studio/ accommodation and the sublime views out to Loch Long.

IMG_8102

I have spent the week ambling around the land, drawing, reflecting, documenting and thinking a lot. Not just about the past 6 months of my life which has been a tremendous experience in itself but of my art practise going forward with. It is going to be a very busy year for me, it’s almost already booked up with me going on residencies, workshops far afield and locally, exhibitions, talks and making a lot of new work and I’m excited for it all but I feel like I needed some time to catch up, reflect and slow down a little.

IMG_8079

Cove Park has been perfect for this. To see more about what Cove Park do and their epic surroundings have a look at their website here: http://covepark.org/.

You can see from my images how it was a great opportunity for me to research, write and take in unfamiliar surroundings of this unique place. It has been a positive way for me to think about what the ideas are in my art work, I found I became very interested in the detail of the land, even more so than before, studying the rocks, the layers, obsessively analyzing the textures and details: giving power to the land. It has given me many ideas for future projects and I aim to take a lot of research and ideas made on this residency into future works with me.

IMG_8082IMG_8122IMG_8140IMG_8177IMG_8192IMG_8281IMG_8287IMG_8309

 

 

Leave a Reply

