Lyth Arts Centre – Artist in Residence

Sorry for the lack of updates recently but March was a busy and quite a difficult month!

The transition from going back to some sort of normality after Iceland was hard and then I had various projects, commissioned campaigns and local art residencies which was all great but didn’t leave me much time for a breather! Anyway, I’ve had some time to reflect in April and have a bit more of a slower pace of life, back in my studio thinking about my work and past projects that flew by.

I’m going to be posting a few blogs about my projects from the month of March. The last blog I posted from Cove Park started literally 3 days after flying back from my 5 month long stint in Iceland and then I headed straight up to the dramatic wilds of North Scotland, in the second week of March to Caithness to begin my week long residency with Lyth Arts Centre. I had been selected for the artist residency a whole year ago so I was excited to finally be able to go up and join the Arts Centre in an area of Scotland that is not very well known to me!

Lyth Arts Centre is an incredible place, remote and slap bang in the middle of exposed fields that stretch as far as the eyes can see. It was a long journey, 7 hours and 3 trains in fact to get to the very top of Scotland where I spent the proceeding days living and working in the spectacular estate house having time to roam around, reflect and go on trips to places like Dunnet Head, Broch Bay, Castlehill, Duncansy Stacks, Wick, John O Groats and Reiss Beach. All places that astounded me with the high level of conserved geology, history, culture and spectacular views over to the Isles of Orkney. Within my art practise I tend to go to the West Coast of Scotland and the Islands for my inspiration, however being a geology fanatic and at home in quiet and remote landscapes, the far North of Scotland was exactly what I needed!

I had an immersive week there, producing fresh work and gaining lots of inspiration from the surrounding area and the many walks I ventured on! I could write in detail about every single place but I think I’ll just let the pictures do the talking. Would highly recommend a visit up to the Lyth Arts Centre and Caithness to anyone, the North is where it’s at! I’ll be heading back up that way in May when me and one of my close friends will be embarking on an epic road trip including the North Coast 500 route, driving around in her motorhome travelling around the whole coast of Scotland slowly to really see it all!

Honestly though, even though Scotland is a small Country and I’v lived here for the majority of my life, there is still so much to see and do! I’ve covered the majority of the mainland and Islands but there are so many wild places and unexpected dramatic views to see, go and find it, I urge you all!

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

 

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 preset23456

Leave a Reply

