May & June Updates

It’s been a while since I’ve posted again sorry!

May was a jam packed month full of exciting workshops and new ventures! I’ll give you a quick update as to what I’ve been up to!

Firstly, I was in Ullapool to run art workshops with the community as part of the ‘Just Landed’ Exhibition at An Talla Solais where my three large scale drawings were on show. I ran some drawing workshops with the two local care homes, spoke in the gallery about my art practise with the primary schools and also gave a gallery tour of the show. It also allowed me the time to get out in the landscape and explore some of the amazing natural spots around Ullapool, it’s such an interesting part of our Country!

Secondly, my Solo exhibition ‘Fading Light’ opened in the Small Gallery on the 11th of May at the Grampian Arts Trust in Aberdeen where it’s on show until the 24th of June. The work was a response to my time spent in the high North of Iceland and in the exhibition is a selection of my newest works, all available to purchase.

IMG_7431

Leading on from this, I then travelled the incredible North Coast 500 route with my lovely friend Sam in her motorhome! We drove and explored this amazing coastline in 10 days and I still can’t stop thinking about it! The inspiration I gained from this trip is immense and the places we explored were incredible, it certainly gave me a huge appreciation for my wonderful home country. My next post will be dedicated to my North Coast 500 trip as I have so many photos and writings from my time that I have to share with you all!

IMG_0277

I was also invited to be part of a new portrait film for Visit Scotland filming with Cut Media. It is a new series of portrait films for Visit Scotland’s Tourism and I am the focus of the film, being selected to represent the Dundee and Angus area. We had an incredible two days of filming in my studio, my favourite landscapes in Angus; Glen Clova of course and even got a night time bothy scene in from Glen Lee! I’m so excited to share this film with you all and I cannot wait to see it myself, hopefully it will be out soon! It was an absolute pleasure being able to be filmed working in my studio and out in the landscapes taking photographs and I’m so happy I was invited to do this! It’s also amazing exposure for my work so I look forward to sharing it.

IMG_0334

After this, I then had the pleasure of photographing the opening of my home town’s festival, the Dundee Design Festival that is! It was a pleasure being able to see so much creativity and talent in an amazing space of the West Ward Works in Dundee.

At the end of May it was then off to the Knockengorroch Festival down in Dumfries where I was left feeling inspired from the many creative workshops on offer and the wonderful people I got to meet along with the experience of being part of such a vibrant arts community.

Phewwww! And that was my May! June has been a bit slower but equally as lovely being in my studio and making the most of my last month as DJCAD’s Artist in Residence. I have to move out of my studio next month so I’m making use of the time and space to concentrate on my practise and develop my work from Iceland and the smaller residencies I was part of last month. It’s been incredibly busy so my studio space is a place where I can reflect, experiment and produce new work in a quiet and creative setting. The most important thing is to be inspired and to keep making the work!

Ellis O'Connor Artist Studio-138

Leading on from this now that I’m all up to date my next adventures are to the Isle of Barra, a trip up to Achmelvich in the North of Scotland for some inspiration, The Isle of Eigg, Norway, Svalbard for my epic trip with the Arctic Circle Organisation, Shetland and I don’t have a clue after that but it’s all exciting! I’ll keep updating as much as I can about my upcoming adventures and the new work I will be making.

Remember, if you would like to follow my day to day adventures and photographs please follow me on my social media channels:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Or even head over to my website where I have put up new work and updated my online shop! In the meantime thanks for reading my blog and keeping up to date with my art work, photography and travels!

 

 

Leave a Reply

