Isle of Barra and outdoor studios.

I spent a week on the incredible Isle of Barra for a week at the end of  June. Even though I’m currently located on the Isle of Eigg, I thought I would share some photographs with you all from my trip on Barra while I have the chance and some of the work I made whilst I was out there. I spent the week seeing as much as possible on the Island, walking around all of the various areas of natural interest, climbed Heaval, (which is the highest point on Barra) produced some new drawings whilst outside in the midst of the inspiring landscape and even got a day trip over to the neighbouring Island of Eriskay. I could tell you all of the exact places I ventured to and the geological interest they have but I think I’ll just let the pictures do the talking for now! Where are you favourite Islands in Scotland and what are your go to places for creative inspiration?

IMG_0710

I’ve noticed recently within my work that I don’t necessarily need to have a ‘studio’ in an exact place, a room in which I go to, to produce my work. All I’ve been inspired by recently is being able to go out in the various landscapes we have here in Scotland and set up my studio outside in the midst of it all. It’s a wonderful thing being able to set up a studio space outside, just you, the mediums, the paper and the natural wonders around you. And before anyone asks, no it is not ‘sketching’ I’m doing, I’m making work, just because I am working and documenting what I see outdoors does not make it any less significant if I was producing the final piece in my actual studio indoors. Sorry that went on a little bit, but what I’m trying to say and what the most important thing to me in my artwork is finding primary inspiration and working straight from it and of course take advantage of the inspiring places we have around us to fuel and enrich my practise!

IMG_0540

Anyway, here are some photos from my time on Barra last month! I hope you like them and feel free to follow along on my adventures through my social media platforms at:

Website

Twitter

Instagram

Thanks again for reading my blog!

IMG_0899IMG_0690IMG_0628IMG_0886IMG_0851IMG_0746IMG_0697IMG_0766IMG_0553IMG_0555

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

